My best meatloaf ever!

Don’t you just love it when you try something new, and it turns out GREAT? I sure do! Even better? When it’s the healthiest version that I’ve ever made at the same time!

So, like many people, I have been focusing on better eating/more activity since the 1st of the year (more on that later). One of my big focuses is to find recipes that are healthy and so yummy that we wouldn’t dare feel deprived while eating them. I want to fill our table with food that we would be happy to eat forever, not that we are willing to eat as a temporary sacrifice. HUGELY different mindset. It’s definitely going to take a lot of work and experimentation though, but I’ll share my successes (and some of my failures) with you, so you don’t have to start from scratch yourselves. 🙂 Yeah, I’m a giver. 😉

My family LOVES meatloaf. Every single time I ask my husband’s input on what to make for upcoming dinners, he will answer meatloaf as his first choice. It can be REALLY high in fat and calories though, so I wanted to find a recipe which we could work into our lives, and still feel good about it. I have tried turkey meatloaf before, and was really disappointed. It was bland, and had a weird texture. Definitely not the one for us. I ran across a recipe on http://www.eatingwell.com where they used beer to caramelize onions in their meatloaf in order to add flavor and moisture. Genius! This meatloaf makes 8 hearty servings (I see some cut into 12 pieces, but I think that’s too skimpy.) Here’s my take:

My Best Meatloaf
6 oz. light beer
6 oz. fat free beef broth
1 medium sweet onion, chopped
1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce, divided
1/2 cup whole wheat bread crumbs (can substitute regular crumbs, as well)
1/2 cup dry quick-cook oats
1 large egg
1 large egg white
2 lb 93/7 ground beef
1/4 tsp dried thyme
1/2 tsp granulated garlic
3/4 tsp sea salt
1 tsp ground mustard

1-In sautee pan, add beer, broth, 1 Tbsp of Worcestershire, and onions. Cook over medium-high heat until the liquid is almost completely cooked down. The onions will be a deep brown color. Watch them carefully when the liquid is almost gone, and stir regularly at that point, or they may burn.

2-In small bowl, stir together all dried ingredients. In separate bowl, beat egg, egg white, and remaining 1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce.

3-In large bowl, break ground beef up a bit with your hands (I always mix meatloaf with my hands. It feels gross, but I think you get a much better distribution of ingredients without overworking the meat.) In batches, add some each of onion, dried ingredients, and egg mixture, and gently work through meat until everything is combined and well-distributed (I did this in about 3 stages, so I didn’t end up with big clumps of dried ingredients that were hard to work through). Transfer to loaf pan, and cover with foil.

4-In preheated 375-degree oven, cook meatloaf for approximately 1 hour (or until thermometer reads 160 when inserted into center), uncovering after 40 minutes. Let rest 5 minutes, and then pour off any liquid (I didn’t have much, and very little of it was fat). Slice into 8 servings.

Nutritional information (based on http://www.myfitnesspal.com’s recipe calculator):
242 calories, 13 g carb, 9 g fat, 26 g protein, 1 g fiber, and 347 mg sodium

P.S. Sorry no pic, but I wasn’t actually planning about blogging about it till this morning, hehe. (As you can tell, this blog has been sorely neglected for many months, lol) Next time I make one, I will edit this to add a pic!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

