Dinner 8-3-10

Everyone in my family is a bit under the weather, including me.  Throats are sore, muscles ache, heads hurt, and everyone generally wants their mommy and a blankie.  I, however, AM the mommy to most of these house dwellers.  I’m really trying to avoid eating out, so as much as I’d like to dial for dinner tonight, I am determined to get something on the table that didn’t come through a window, in a paper bag.  So… what am I going to make?  Comfort food, plain and simple.  This is not one of my healthy meals.  I’m over it.  Bonus points for using up something from the freezer, though, lol.

Beefy Baked Ravioli (Original recipe here: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Beefy-Baked-Ravioli/Detail.aspx)

Serves 6

Ingredients

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 (16 ounce) package frozen cheese ravioli
  • 1 (14 ounce) jar spaghetti sauce
  • 1 (14.5 ounce) can diced Italian-style tomatoes, drained
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1 cup shredded Monterey Jack cheese (ok, I only had a mexican-blend which included Monterey Jack, but no seasonings)
  • 1 tablespoon grated Parmesan cheese

 Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. Crumble the ground beef into a large skillet over medium-high heat. Cook and stir until no longer pink. Drain grease, then stir in the spaghetti sauce and tomatoes.
  3. Spread 1/3 of the sauce in the bottom of an 11×7 inch baking dish. Arrange 1/2 of the ravioli over the sauce. Sprinkle 1/2 of the mozzarella cheese and 1/2 of the Monterey Jack cheese over the ravioli. Repeat layers, ending with the last of the sauce on top. Cover with aluminum foil.
  4. Bake for 30 minutes in the preheated oven. Sprinkle Parmesan cheese over the top before serving.

(honestly, I did not follow this, and instead just layered all of the ingredients, instead of mixing the sauce, tomatoes, and meat together)

REVIEW: It was certainly easy enough.  DH and DD15 liked it.  DS6 picked at it, and DS4 wouldn’t touch it (they’re not feeling that well though, to be fair).  I liked the throw-together-ness factor, but it seemed like it was lacking a bit, and had way too much meat.  About 1/2 lb would have been a better amount.  Italian sausage would have been a good addition, I think.

Serve with a quick spinach salad (I may opt out if I run out of steam), and steamed cauliflower sprinkled with Cavender’s Greek Seasoning http://www.greekseasoning.com/ (I love this stuff).

For a quick bite at the end, I am throwing together a fruit salad with cantaloupe, casaba melon, and diced mango, drizzled lightly with honey and sprinkled with fresh mint.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dinner 8-3-10

  1. She's Perfect for Me! says:

    It was yummy!

  2. Jodi says:

    It sounds good & I love italian sausage! Wiil have to try it, thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

